keronnot.blogg.se

Can i unplug my wd my book 3tb
Can i unplug my wd my book 3tb






  1. CAN I UNPLUG MY WD MY BOOK 3TB FOR MAC
  2. CAN I UNPLUG MY WD MY BOOK 3TB FULL
  3. CAN I UNPLUG MY WD MY BOOK 3TB CODE

The My Book Studio II also came out roughly during the debut of the USB 3 standard, when we first reviewed the drive in 2008.

can i unplug my wd my book 3tb

As no Macs currently support USB 3.0, it's pointless to include the standard in this particular drive.

CAN I UNPLUG MY WD MY BOOK 3TB FOR MAC

It becomes more clear that the My Book Studio II is made for Mac when you see the port array on the back: two FireWire 400/800 ports, eSATA, and USB 2.0. It's an attractive case that looks good standing next to any computer.Ĭonnectivity. Cooling is important, even with these special WD GreenPower drives, so you should make sure there's reasonable airflow around each drive. Though it is shaped like a book, I don't recommend setting the My Book Studio II in a bookcase, or too close to other drives and certainly not in amid a bunch of books. The two 3TB drives are mounted vertically, ports down, and air rises through the case via convection, cooling the drives as it operates.

can i unplug my wd my book 3tb

Well ventilated on three sides, the My Book Studio II offers four connection options, including FireWire 800 and 400, plus eSATA and USB 2.įour rubber feet hold the My Book Studio II above the desk, allowing air to flow in from all sides.

CAN I UNPLUG MY WD MY BOOK 3TB CODE

There are ventilation slots and dots, reminiscent of a Morse code pattern, on the top, bottom, and rear of the book, and an LED array on the front, shaped much like the longer slots, and several light patterns "play" in the space depending on what the drive is doing at any given moment.īack view. Its outer shell is plastic, but it has some serious heft. The My Book Studio II drive is an attractive, silver, book-shaped drive unit. As I'll soon explain, try to think of it more as a 3-terabyte drive, though, because that's where its maximum value truly lies. That's the advantage of a My Book Studio II Hard Drive, now available as large as 6 terabytes. This is a good solution, if a little risky having a desktop strewn with bare hard drives, but unless you have a lot of experience, it's hard to set these up as a RAID for simple redundant storage. Hard drive docks are an option, because they allow you to use bare hard drives and swap them out, creating multiple copies of your data across two or more drives. To avoid obsolescence and data-fade we have to periodically buy newer, larger drives and copy our old data onto the new drives. So it's gradually become more clear that the new standard for long term storage is hard drives. As robust and cheap as DVDs are, they're still vulnerable to fading over time, just like all other media.

CAN I UNPLUG MY WD MY BOOK 3TB FULL

As digital cameras capable 12-24 megapixels and Full HD video continue to grow in number, both photographers and ordinary family archivists are faced with a challenge: How do we reliably store our photographs and videos so they'll be available in the future?įor a short time, the removeable optical storage offered by DVD was the logical answer, but those shooting RAW and RAW+JPEG and video of any kind have found their hard drives brimming with files and folders that are far too large for DVDs.








Can i unplug my wd my book 3tb